Joie de Meg Begins!

Today is the first post on Joie de Meg!  That’s reason enough for me to be happy.  I’m starting this blog for a lot of reasons…

A resolution I’m setting for 2011 is to write more.  I like writing.  It calms me down.

I tend to be pretty cheerful and want to show others what makes me happy.  I think happiness is contagious, so hopefully by sharing these things, other people will experience a boost in their day.

I want to show that it is the little things that happen each day that really bring the most joy.

 

Joie de vivre has been one of my most favorite phrases/philosophies for quite some time.  I’m not sure when I first heard the term, but know that it started to take root during high school French classes.  My teacher, Madame Griffin, even told me that I had a great joie de vivre on the last day of class during my senior year.  It’s a compliment that I have not forgotten.

 

Joie de vivre (listen to pronunciation here!) term has multiple definitions.  The literal translation from French means “joy of living.”  Not “joy of life.”  I like making this distinction because living is a verb and shows that one must be active.  I think that’s key and I know that most of my daily joys come from the things that I participate in, whether it’s work, a phone call to my parents, eating dinner with a friend, or a gym class.  I don’t get very much joy from just sitting around at home. 

So what can you expect to see on Joie de Meg?  Lots!  Posts will be reflections of the things that made a happy impact on my day.  Knowing myself, you can expect to see recipes, photographs, favorite quotations, travel updates, and even current events.  Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as well.

Thanks for reading, and hope you continue to follow Joie de Meg!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Joie de Meg Begins!

  1. Shelley

    This is awesome Meg! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. Barbara Bollenback

    I’m so glad you are doing this, Meghan, and I can’t wait to read each one as I love to know what you’re doing. Love you Grandma B

  3. Caitlin

    Love it Meg!! Very excited for everything…esp recipes and pics of delicious looking food.

  4. Carol Bollenback

    I am so excited to read your future posts! Your resolution is a bonus for everyone else. I hope you have a wonderful and blessed 2011.

Leave a Reply

