You Win Some, You Lose Some

I hope you’re not sick of reading about my work.  Because I’m not going to stop writing about it.  Sometimes the things that happen to me at work are just so absurd that I can’t help but want to share.  Take yesterday….

I get in at 6:30am to make sure that breakfast kicked off well and that meeting break areas (which include a lot of food and beverage offerings) are set up appropriately.  All is well until about 8:30am when I notice one of the engineering workers at the hotel bar with his toolkit.  I walk on over and discover a nice spray of water coming out of a line to the soda machine.  He explains that the tube is old, but that he would patch the hole as long as I could get the water cleaned up.  Not a problemwith me — my knowledge of tools is quite limited.  

Almost four hours pass, and I’m in the middle of lunch service for 100 meeting participants.  All of a sudden, one of my dining room servers frantically runs over from behind the bar and tells me that water is everywhere.  I groan, walk over to check it out, and immediately see that the situation is now five times worse than it was before.  The “nice spray” is now Old Faithful, and I have full-blown flooding behind the bar that’s also seeping onto the carpet in the bar area.  Fabulous. 

 

Unfortunately the only credit card machine for the dining room is located behind the bar, and I had two cards to swipe.  So I decide to take a half-shower on the lower part of my body, process the payments and then call the Engineering Department again.  I think they’re going to stop answering my calls soon. 

The problem was fixed by turning the water off and placing a maintenance call to Coca-Cola.  They’ll be out to fix things on Monday, but the carpet’s another story.  Just another day!

In some good news about work (no maintenance problems involved)….today was the annual employee holiday party where the managers do all the work of setting up and cleaning and the employees bring their families to enjoy some food, see annual awards distributed, and possibly win a raffle prize.  I do not consider myself a lucky person when it comes to winning prizes.  But for some reason, today was my lucky day.  I won Manager of the Year for 2010 and also a Blu-Ray player as a raffle prize.  I’m pretty dumbfounded as to how I won those, but feel grateful.  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Holidays, It's Fun Being a Manager, Work

3 responses to “You Win Some, You Lose Some

  1. Caitlin

    Manager of the YEAR?! CONGRATS MEG!!! xoxo

  2. Granddad

    Good things happen when you’re pure of heart – and lucky. The blog is good.

  3. Barbara Bollenback

    Congratulations on manager of the year. You work so hard, you deserve it. Love Grandma B

Leave a Reply

