Ice, Ice, Baby

Today, I discovered something ingenious that will change my life.  Honestly, I had no idea that such a thing as this existed until about 12:30pm today when over salad, cereal, and an apple (my typical go-to lunch at work when I don’t pack my own and don’t want to eat what’s provided in the employee break room), a co-worker informed me of certain wonders that come in a yellow bottle.  Any guesses?  No, it’s not illegal, so don’t start thinking I’ve jumped off the deep end. 

It’s de-icer!  How did I make it through winters in the Shenandoah Valley and now the Triangle without this?  Just thinking of the amount of time I could have saved last year alone boggles my mind.

I remember the first time I scraped the windshield of my trusty SUV.  It was in early 2007, and it was a big day to me since my Floridian car had never been so icy.  I was living in a triple dorm and my roommate Shelley took me outside to teach me how to scrape a windshield.  No, it’s not difficult to do, but I was glad to have a seasoned professional from Virginia to give me some pointers.  Clearly, I was so excited that I even documented the process:



I still use the same ice scraper.  Another Wal-Mart special!

 

Now that I know about de-icer though, I may not need to use those skills as often during the winter. Sorry, Shell. 

The reason I’m so excited about this is that as of 7:45am today, I could not get into my car.  All doors were frozen shut, including the back hatch.  I was smart enough to remove my ice scraper from my car the night before, knowing that I would probably need it this morning.  Unfortunately, plastic scrapers aren’t very effective when there’s a half-inch slab of ice covering every nook of your car. 

I called into work saying I would be late and waited another 45 minutes or so, which definitely did the trick.  I cracked through the ice on the passenger side door, started the car, and waited for it to warm up.  I got to work by 9am (Mom, I swear the roads were fine) and then faced the task of making sure the staff that spent the night in the hotel all ate breakfast before starting their days.  One perk of working at a hotel is that should any inclement weather show up, I’ll have a place to stay and food to eat the next day.

Anyway, back to de-icer.  I can’t wait to test this stuff out!  Supposedly you can spray it on your windshield and windows before an ice storm to make it not freeze over as much.  Or, you can spray it on after the damage is done and it works quickly to break through the ice.  The co-worker who informed me of it said he bought cases while living in New York but since moving to North Carolina in 2008, has only used two bottles.  It gives me hope that this product comes so highly recommended.  I’ll give an update once I buy some and get the chance to test it out (which hopefully won’t be for another month!).

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

