Dark Chocolate Dipping Sauce

Do you remember Terry’s Chocolate Covered Orange Balls

These were really popular candy items in the late 1990’s and early 2000’s, but I haven’t seen them in stores as frequently for the past few years.  I remember when I first noticed them, the idea of a chocolate covered orange disgusted me.  But today, I had that exact treat on my mind because I remembered what I received as a gift from my parents last year for Valentine’s Day:

An amazing Edible Arrangement!

A lovely and delicious Edible Arrangement!  It was full of extremely fresh fruit flowers, many pieces of which were covered in dark chocolate.  Holy yum.  That arrangement did not last long, trust me.

So this morning, I thought about the “flowers”, and realized that I could make them myself.  Or at least the individual pieces.  I wasn’t about to attempt to shape honeydew into flowers. 

The funny thing is that this really isn’t a recipe.  It’s more of a tutorial, as it use very few ingredients and almost no cooking is involved.   A stove is necessary, but even that could be bypassed by melting the chocolate in the microwave.  If you’re looking for a quick and easy Valentine’s Day treat, this is a great idea.  The possibilities are endless with the types of fruits you use, so have fun with it.  I only used clementines today, but have a feeling that some pears in my fridge may receive a chocolate bath tomorrow.

 

Dark Chocolate Dipping Sauce

½ cup dark (60% cacao) chocolate chips (can also use semi-sweet)
1 tsp. butter (optional)
2 tsp. skim milk
Fruit of choice — such as 3 to 4 clementines

1. Prepare your fruits first:  peel, slice, do whatever needs to be done.  Also, line a cookie sheet with wax paper.
2.  In a double boiler, melt the chocolate over medium heat.  Stir constantly to make sure it does not burn.
3.  Add the butter or shortening if using, and once all chocolate is almost melted, add the milk and remove from the heat.
4.  Use toothpicks (or fingers…no shame here) to dip your fruit slices.
5. Lay carefully on the wax paper and allow to cool for 5 minutes.  Refrigerate for 15 to 20 minutes so the chocolate hardens (if you can wait that long), and then enjoy your own homemade incredible edible.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

