Bon! Ratatouille

You know the stereotype about American women loving foreign accents, particulary British or Australian?  While I’m sure that’s true, I am here to tell you that there is nothing American women find more irrisitible than a man with a French accent and a fabulous joie de vivre.

Meet J.M.

J.M. is a Quebeçois on-call cook where I work.  He used to be a sous chef, but decided he wanted to pursue more college degrees and teach philosophy at a local university.  He simply stays on-call because he loves to cook and enjoys mingling with the variety of people that come through the hotel.  Whenever I see J.M. at work, I immediately get a smile on my face because he is like a breath of fresh air.  He is incredibly bubbly, looks like a jolly Père Noël, and always gives excellent wine suggestions.  I never tire of hearing him say, “Ahh, bon!” after finishing off a fruit display or setting up a buffet.  Everyone could use a little more “Bon!” in their life.

The thing that gets me everytime about this friendly French Canadian is how J.M. attracts women.  It is like moths to a flame.  The chefs and I tend to make a sport of guessing how many women he can charm in the course of an hour while working the dinner buffet because it is so fun to watch.  J.M. is probably in his mid-50s, but females of all ages blush immediately when he says, “Bon soir, how are you tonight?  Now do not forget dessert, all women (pronounced wooo-man) must enjoy un petit chocolat today.”

I think he should record his voice and sell Podcasts on iTunes of him simply speaking nonsense.  He could make millions.  And he would make millions of women happier all over the world. 

Read on, there’s more!

2 Comments

Filed under It's Fun Being a Manager, Recipes, Uncategorized, Work

2 responses to “Bon! Ratatouille

  1. christophe lechevalier

    sorry, i do not want to be rude….but what you are cooking is not a ratatouille. i come from provence and have learnt how to cook it at a tender age. i realise that ratatouille is a popular dish, but frankly, i am offended when people ‘bastardise’ a cultural dish from my part of the world.
    i suggest that you check on the recipe, history and cultural place of such a simple dish before you publish your post. it is important because there are so many ‘versions’ of the dish online that one day, the real meaning and the dish itself might either disappear or mean something entirely different; that would be a shame.
    i would be happy to pass on the recipe i have learnt from many members of my family to you as a token of respect for you and the dish itself.

    many thanks.

    christophe lechevalier.

    • Thanks for your feedback Christophe, and yes please send the recipe my way! I apologize if I insulted you, but I have made ratatouille many times with professional chefs as well as on my own, and for the most part, I think I stuck pretty closely to what I believe is a traditional recipe. It’s very possible that I just never learned the true version, but I do believe that it is a dish that many people have adapated to suit their own tastes and ingredients as time has gone on. I also know that some chefs bake their ratatouille, but I have never seen it that way. I’m not sure if you make yours, but regardless, I absolutely want to see what the real version is. Again, I did not mean to insult you or anyone of French descent. I am certain that I will love the traditional dish as soon as I make it!

Leave a Reply

