Gewurztraminer Mango Dessert Topping

I can barely pronounce, let alone spell, “gewurztraminer.”  But one thing I can do with it?  Make a delicious dessert!

Today’s wine of the week comes with a twist.  I received this lovely bottle of Washington Hills 2008 “Paradise Peak” Gewurztraminer for my birthday and it has been chilling in my refrigerator waiting to be used for the past couple months.  Surprised that I waited?  Hah, me too.

But to be honest…I’m not much of a gewurztraminer fan.  It’s wine, so obviously I like it, but it’s usually too sweet for me.  This bottle provided a better balance between sweet, tart, and crisp flavors from the fruity notes, but it reminded me of Welch’s Grape Juice.  There was no “wine” bite to it that led me to slowly sipping.  Rather, I could have easily downed the bottle in one go. 

I did not, for the record. 

Still, I wanted to use it up somehow and so I concocted this recipe.  I’m a big fan of cooking fruit in wine and then serving it with ice cream or yogurt for dessert.  It’s something that looks fancy when presented in a nice wine or martini glass, but is so so simple.

Gewurztraminer Mango Dessert Topping
Makes enough for two

1 ripe mango, diced
2 strawberries (fresh or frozen), sliced
1 cup Washington Hills 2008 “Paradise Peak” Gewurztraminer
1 Tbsp. sugar
2 Tbsp. water
dash of black pepper (secret ingredient!)

In a small saucepot, heat mango, strawberries, and wine over medium heat for a minute.  Add in sugar and water, stirring until it dissolves.  Reduce heat to medium-low and let wine cook off and reduce for 15 to 20 minutes.  About half-way through cooking, add the dash of black pepper.  It really livens up this dish!  Then keep an eye on the sauce so that the wine doesn’t cook off completely and start to burn the fruit.

When liquid has cooked down substantially and the mixture is mostly fruit, it’s ready!  Remove from heat and let stand for a couple minutes.

Spoon a small amount of yogurt (or ice cream) into a wine glass.  Top with half of the mango mixture and eat immediately.  The glass gets a little steamy from the heat of the dessert topping, which just adds to the fun. 

 

The mango and gewurztraminer definitely made this a tart topping, but it balances really well with the creamy yogurt.  Now I need to find a wine to fill in the void in my fridge left by my used-up birthday bottle.  🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Wine of the Week

Leave a Reply

